anything you can do i can do better

2 12 2010

last night devos with the nazies was pretty epic….. not just because we watched a clip from toy story 3…. or that the girls DOMINATED in neighbor screwing….. or EVEN to find out that josh does an excellent cho imitation in his absence, but that there was some pretty good God stuff going on.

In Genesis 15 we see where God is making his covenant with Abraham…. pretty important stuff….. And we see where God tells Abraham that he is going to be greatly blessed…. and Abraham responds with a little bit of sass….. he says basically, what could you possibly give me???  I can’t even have any kids…. anything you give to me will be wasted because i have no one to receive an inheritance from me…..  This is when God takes Abraham outside and shows him the sky and says…. “Look toward heaven, and number the stars, if you are able to number them.  So shall your offspring be.”

God is infinitely to the infinite power more creative than we are.   Abraham couldn’t see beyond his circumstances to see how God could bless him.   And God took him by the hand and said… yeah you’re right, in your little head, it can’t be done, because what you have right now is all you can do…. but then God took him outside and said but look at what I can do.

And i swear, sitting there on that big comfy couch in my sweats between 2 nice boys,  God gave me an elbow to the gut.   Have you gotten an elbow of holiness lately???   What was it about??

Actions

Information

11 responses

2 12 2010
Ewebey

I just read that same passage the other day in my “Read the Bible in 90 Days” plan.

3 12 2010
mcgilla

i tried doing that last year…… i made it to joshua. Keep it up!!!

2 12 2010
stepanana

i’m pretty sure you and God worked together to punch me in the gut with this one. thanks for that.

2 12 2010
ron

neighbor WHAT?

3 12 2010
mcgilla

oh ron…. you would read that whole post and ONLY comment on the neighbor screwing. by the way… sitting in this AMAZING chair!!!

6 12 2010
ron

STOP TALKING DIRTY IN THE DATE CHAIR!!!!!

6 12 2010
mcgilla

there’s nothing dirty happening in the date chair. no worries.

2 12 2010
jamie

Oh Ron, see what the Nazarenes have done to me 🙂

6 12 2010
ron

There is grace and forgiveness, Jamie. Even for Nazarenes… 😉

18 12 2010
Bella

This post infuriated me! I desperately miss that comfy couch and those devos and Cho.

Also, I have too have recently had Abraham pop into a few of my devos and the thing that kills me about him time and time again are the totally candid conversations he has with God and how he never seems to be nervous to ask Him for anything or to admit that he is doubting. And if Abraham can do that in God’s physical presence, right to His face, why do I struggle with it in my prayers? Why do I find it so hard to admit that I have doubts of His abilities or to ask for His assistance, when I know I can and He makes it so easy for me to do so?

1 01 2011
mcgilla

he’s kinda a major leader…. even gets the @ in the hebrews hall of fame….. so it is at least a little encouraging that if he can doubt… it’s ok that i do… which is encouraging…. but i agree also makes me feel like a big ole dummy

Leave a Reply

